Five Minutes with…Vicki Leigh – Author of Catch Me When I Fall & Editor at Curiosity Quills

Vicki Leigh_Author PortraitToday I have the very great pleasure to have Vicki Leigh – Author of Catch Me When I Fall & Editor at Curiosity Quills, join me in another Five Minutes with… 

So let’s get to know Vicki better

About The Author:

Adopted at three-days-old by a construction worker and a stay-at-home mom, Vicki Leigh grew up in a small suburb of Akron, Ohio where she learned to read by the age of four and considered being sent to her room for punishment as an opportunity to dive into another book. By the sixth grade, Vicki penned her first, full-length screenplay. If she couldn’t be a writer, Vicki would be a Hunter (think Dean and Sam Winchester) or a Jedi. Her favorite place on earth is Hogwarts (she refuses to believe it doesn’t exist), and her favorite dreams include solving cases alongside Sherlock Holmes.

 

Vicki is an editor for Curiosity Quills Press and is represented by Sarah Negovetich of Corvisiero Literary Agency.

Find Vicki Leigh Online:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads 

 cover1000So that’s Vicki’s bio, but I like to get into peoples heads so here we go…

NIK: In your bio it says if you weren’t a writer you’d be a ‘Sam & Dean Winchester’ style hunter or a Jedi – OK I gotta hear more about these choices!

VICKI: Well, I have a really hard time existing in the real world, and I’m a tad obsessed with both Supernatural and Star Wars. So, if I can’t write, I’m either going to hunt demons or sith lords. 

NIK: Don’t be too nervous but I’m about to ask a big one… Cat or Dog Person?

VICKI: I know this is kind of a cop-out answer, but I love both. I had cats until I discovered how allergic I was to them. Now, I have a puppy (since I can’t have cats), and I love him like he’s my child. So…give me both! 

NIK: Early riser or night owl?

VICKI: Night owl. I am not a pleasant person in the morning! 

NIK: What were your three favourite subjects at school?

VICKI: English, Band, and Drama. Oh, the last two don’t count? 

NIK: It said on your bio that you were reading at age four, what is the first book you remember reading?

VICKI: Oh wow. My memory doesn’t actually go back that far; I just know what my parents tell me.  The first book I remember reading, though, was THE LION, THE WITCH, AND THE WARDROBE by C.S. Lewis when I was in the fifth grade. 

NIK: What book/s are you reading at present?

VICKI: I have 1,000 books on my Goodreads TBR list. No joke. But I’m part of C.C. Hunter’s blog tour, so right now I’m reading her novel, ETERNAL. And after that I’m diving right into Leigh Bardugo’s RUIN AND RISING. I’m really itching to finish the amazing GRISHA series! 

NIK: Aside from reading, how do you relax/escape from the world?

VICKI: Watching T.V. and movies is usually how I relax. But I’ve also been playing piano since I was six, so music is another great outlet when I need an escape from life. 

NIK: What is your favourite quote?

VICKI: It’s kind of long, and I don’t know who said it, but, as someone who went through some tough things in the last few years, this is my favorite quote: “For a star to be born, there is one thing that must happen: a gaseous nebula must collapse. So collapse. Crumble. This is not your destruction. This is your birth.”

 

About Your Process of Writing:

NIK: Do you set aside a special time to write?

VICKI: No. I just make a point to write every day. cover1000

NIK: Do you have a special “writing place” at home?

VICKI: I do! There’s a really comfy chair that’s big enough to curl up in, and, for some reason, I like to write in awkward positions. So, it’s a really good chair to twist my body like a pretzel. 

NIK: Do you aim for a set amount of words/pages per day?

VICKI: I aim for one chapter. If I get one chapter, then great! But sometimes, if I’m having a really good day, I’ll write multiple chapters. It really just depends on the day. 

NIK: Inspiration is always an interesting question and perhaps one of the hardest to answer, but alas, readers want to know – so I’ll try to ask it in a different way. The idea for your novel, how much was inspiration, how much perspiration and how much irritation?

VICKI: I’d say it was 90% inspiration. The idea for CATCH ME WHEN I FALL just came to me, and I was in love with the plot and Daniel. The story just poured out of me. Revising was a different story, though. That was more perspiration and irritation! But I have great critique partners who helped me rework some of the things that just didn’t fit where I wanted my story to go. 

NIK: Do you work to an outline or plot or do you prefer just see where an idea takes you?

VICKI: I need some sort of backbone to know where my story’s going, so I typically use Save the Cat or the 7 Point Plot. But then I pants my way through each major plot point. I always end up re-working my outline about half-way through; I’ve never had a story end up the way I planned. But that’s part of the fun for me—having an ending in mind and letting my characters get me there. 

NIK: Do you listen to music while you write & if so, what kind?

VICKI: I don’t. I like being able to get into my characters’ heads, and music is a distraction for me. I prefer writing in silence. 

NIK:  What’s harder for you, the first paragraph of a new WIP or the last?

VICKI: The last. I’m notoriously bad with endings. I don’t think I’ve written a manuscript yet where my agent hasn’t asked me to re-write the ending.

 cover1000And now onto the fun bit, lets talk about your novel ! Tell us a little about Catch Me When I Fall

Recruited at his death to be a Protector of the Night, seventeen-year-old Daniel Graham has spent two-hundred years fighting Nightmares and guarding humans from the clawed, red-eyed creatures that feed off people’s fears. Each night, he risks his eternal life, having given up his chance at an afterlife when he chose to become a Protector. That doesn’t stop a burnt-out Daniel from risking daring maneuvers during each battle. He’s become one of the best, but he wants nothing more than to stop.
Then he’s given an assignment to watch over sixteen-year-old Kayla Bartlett, a clinically depressed patient in a psychiatric ward. Nightmares love a human with a tortured past. Yet, when they take a deep interest in her, appearing in unprecedented numbers, the job becomes more dangerous than any Daniel’s ever experienced. He fights ruthlessly to keep the Nightmares from overwhelming his team and Kayla. Soon, Daniel finds himself watching over Kayla during the day, drawn to why she’s different, and what it is about her that attracts the Nightmares. And him.
A vicious attack on Kayla forces Daniel to break the first Law and reveal his identity. Driven by his growing feelings for her, he whisks her away to Rome where others like him can keep her safe. Under their roof, the Protectors discover what Kayla is and why someone who can manipulate Nightmares has her in his sights. But before they can make a move, the Protectors are betrayed and Kayla is kidnapped. Daniel will stop at nothing to save her. Even if it means giving up his immortality.

Well that all sound pretty awesome but like I said earlier, I like to know more… so…

Vicki Leigh_Author PortraitNIK: Where did the idea come from?

VICKI: I came up with the idea of Dreamcatchers and Nightmares when I looked up at my ceiling and saw what resembled the shadow of an angel, as if it were protecting me from the nightmares that kept me awake some nights. I’d thought, “Hey, that’s a good idea for a book—guardian angels!” But there were already so many great books about angels on the shelves. So, instead, I’d twisted it and asked myself: “What if the creatures who guarded us at night weren’t guardian angels but former humans who died sacrificial deaths? And what if nightmares weren’t just in our heads but actual creatures that feed off our fears?” And from those two questions, Catch Me When I Fall was born! 

NIK: How did the title come about?

VICKI: Once I decided to name those that fight Nightmares “Dreamcatchers,” I wanted to play off the word “catch” for my series. Without giving away details about the book, Kayla undergoes some extreme changes, and Daniel’s there to catch her if she succumbs to the darkness inside her. So, the title just fit!

 NIK: I believe even the most out there, the wildest and most fantastical of stories and settings comes from something the author has witnessed or experienced. How much of the novel is based on real-life experiences?

VICKI: Well, the story mostly takes place in two locations: Columbus, Ohio and Rome, Italy. I’ve lived in Ohio my whole life, and I’ve visited Rome. So, I pulled on my own experiences in both cities to come up with setting—though I did have to use Google Earth a few times to take closer peeks at Rome. 

NIK: Without giving the plot away, tell us one thing about your main character that would surprise readers.

VICKI: Hmmm…this was a difficult one. Well, I guess I can say, for as tough as Daniel seems to be, he’s actually terrified of snakes. But you won’t get to witness that until a later book—in what I hope is a hilarious scene. 

NIK: Tell us about the cover and how it came about.

VICKI: The cover features Daniel and Kayla in each other’s arms while a Nightmare reaches for them, and the background is a hospital, where we first meet Kayla. I’m actually not a very visual person, so when I gave my artist an idea of what I was looking for, I’m pretty sure I confused him. But I knew I wanted the cover to portray that, yes, this is a romance, but it’s also dark. I think Dean did a great job portraying that. 

NIK: What do you hope people will take away with them after reading your novel?

VICKI: Like other paranormal novels, I hope they’d wonder if there really could be Protectors like Daniel watching over them at night. And I would also hope they’d think they just read an exciting book about friendship, bravery, and sacrificial love. 

NIK: How can readers discover more about you and you work?

VICKI: You can find more about me and my work at my website and Goodreads. I’m also on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, YouTube, and Google+.

Catch Me When I Fall, by Vicki Leigh

Genre: young-adult, urban-fantasy, paranormal-romance

Publisher: Curiosity Quills Press

Date of Release: October 23, 2014

Cover Artist: Conzpiracy Digital Arts

Well, don’t know about you guys but I’m putting this one on my TBR list on GoodReads!

 

Leave a Reply

